Skip Navigation LinksCherry Creek School District > District News > Cherry Creek Schools to honor Exceptional Volunteers
Print this page

Cherry Creek Schools to honor Exceptional Volunteers
Sixty-two outstanding volunteers will be honored by the Cherry Creek School District and Parents’ Council at the 2013 Wendy DeBell Exceptional Volunteer Awards Celebration, from 5:30 to 9 p.m. on Thursday, April 25, at the Hyatt Regency Denver Tech Center, 7800 E. Tufts Avenue. The entire Cherry Creek Schools community is invited to the event. To make a reservation, visit and enter event code eve425.

The Exceptional Volunteers are parents, grandparents, businesspeople and retirees. They volunteer in classrooms and libraries, helping students with reading, math and other skills. They take care of mundane tasks like copying and filing, so teachers can focus on teaching. They support schools by serving on countless committees and organizing events ranging from book fairs to fundraisers.

“These remarkable people support our goal of academic achievement and success for all students by giving generously of their time and talents,” said Superintendent Mary Chesley.  “They also set a wonderful example of volunteerism and community service for our students.”

Every elementary, middle and high school in the district selected an Exceptional Volunteer.

Highline Elementary will honor Charles DeHaas, who has volunteered in the school’s Special Education program and served as PTCO president. “As president, his commitment has been unyielding. He continually seeks others’ ideas and involvement. He facilitates school wide events and fundraisers. Teachers and parents appreciate his style and dedication.”

Campus Middle School will honor Victoria Cantor who has served as a Parent Ambassador, an Accountability Committee member and co-coordinator of the CMS Kindness Awards. “Victoria is a dynamo, sharing her energy, talent, and giving-nature to ensure the success of each and every Campus learner.”

Randi and Wade Dixon are the Exceptional Volunteers from Thunder Ridge Middle School. “The Dixons are a primary reason for the continued growth and support of our PASS (Partnership for Academically Successful Students) team and their commitment to making our school a better place by working to reduce our achievement gap is outstanding.”

Overland High School selected Marche’ Heath, who has served on many school committees, including Accountability, PTCO, PASS and the BLAACK Conference Committee. “Marche’ is a problem solver and brings amazing new ideas to every committee she serves. She exemplifies what it means to be a loyal member of the Blazer family.”

Joan Kinney was chosen as the Exceptional Volunteer from Cherry Creek High School. “Joan played a critical role in ensuring the passage of 3A and 3B this past November.  She was an area campaign coordinator – a role that required her to attend numerous parent meetings in the fall where she provided Creek parents with information about the election.”

Each of the 2013 honorees will receive the Wendy DeBell Exceptional Volunteer Award, named after long-time volunteer and former Board of Education President Wendy DeBell.

The 2013 Exceptional Volunteers are:
School            Honoree
Antelope Ridge        GUY MITCHELL
Aspen Crossing        MICHELE KILLGORE
Belleview         CONNIE PLUMLEIGH
Black Forest Hills    PAULA CARVER
Buffalo Trail        CHARITY RUBOTTOM
Challenge        LYNN LACY
Cherokee Trail HS    KATHRYN MOODY
Cherry Creek Academy    ANDREA EVASHEVSKI
Cherry Creek HS        OAN KINNEY
Cherry Hills Village    ALLISON DODGE
Cimarron        GABRIELA LACERDA
Cottonwood Creek    JELLIE GAUTHIER
Creekside        ANN LUJAN
Dakota Valley        THERESE MENTZER
Eaglecrest HS        DWAYNE WILLIAMS
Eastridge        KATHY GIBSON
Falcon Creek        TIM WEBER
Fox Ridge MS        JEN COLLINS
Grandview HS        DEENA ROWE
Greenwood        ALICIA CHAMBERS
High Plains        SHERYL HINTON
Highline        Charles DeHaas
Hollys            GENA BUTLER
Homestead        SUSAN HOLTER
Horizon MS        VICKIE KHALIL
Independence        BRIDGET MARION
Indian Ridge        ANN SCHWARTZ
Laredo MS        SHERRY CARBY
Meadow Point        SHARON WEATHERFORD
Mission Viejo        MELISSA QUESENBERRY
Overland HS        MARCHÉ HEATH
Peakview        WADE DIXON
Pine Ridge        RITA SCOHERA
Polton            LYNDA JONES
Ponderosa        RHETTA SHEAD
Prairie MS        PAGE ROSS
Red Hawk Ridge        Tamara Aitm’Barek & Cory Furst
Rolling Hills        LYNN SHEFFIELD
Sagebrush        NANNETTE ALMON
Smoky Hill HS        HILLARY ROBBEN
Summit            OHANNA HOOVER
Sunrise            SUSAN BRUNK
Thunder Ridge MS    RANDI & WADE DIXON
Timberline        JOETTE MARTIN
Trails West        DAVID BEDNARZ
Village East        NANCY HENSLEY
Walnut Hills        MONICA DANFELSER
West MS            JULIE BILDSTEIN
Willow Creek        LYNNE SOMMER

Posted April 11, 2013.
Posted 4/11/2013 12:13 PM
Copyright © Cherry Creek School District #5, 4700 S. Yosemite Street, Greenwood Village, CO 80111 | 303-773-1184
Cherry Creek School District No. 5 does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age or disability in admission to its programs, services or activities, in access to them, in treatment of individuals, or in any aspect of their operations. The lack of English language skills shall not be a barrier to admission or participation in the district’s activities and programs. The Cherry Creek School District No. 5 also does not discriminate in its hiring or employment practices. This notice is provided as required by Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990. Questions, complaints, or requests for additional information regarding these laws may be forwarded to the designated compliance officer: District Compliance Officer or directly to the U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights, Region VIII, Federal Office Building 1244 North Speer Blvd., Suite #310, Denver, CO 80204.

You are now leaving the Cherry Creek School District (CCSD) portal. Please note that CCSD does not control nor can it guarantee the accuracy, relevance, timeliness, completeness, or appropriateness of any content contained on web sites and/or pages outside of the official CCSD portal. The information or opinions contained on these web sites and/or pages do not necessarily represent the views of the CCSD.

With access to the internet comes the availability of material that may not be of educational value or appropriate for students. While at school, CCSD has taken precautions to restrict access to inappropriate or harmful web sites. However, on the internet it is impossible to control all materials and limit all access to information that has no educational value. CCSD firmly believes that the valuable information and the interaction available on the internet far outweigh the possibility that users may procure material that is not consistent with the educational goals of CCSD.