Skip Navigation LinksCherry Creek School District > District News > Congratulations to Boettcher, National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists
Print this page

Congratulations to Boettcher, National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

​The Cherry Creek School District is proud to recognize high school seniors who have been named as semifinalists for two prestigious scholarships.

boettcher foundation logoSince 1952, the Boettcher Foundation has presented merit-based scholarships to Colorado’s top students. Each year, more than 1,500 students apply for the 42 available scholarships, which are full-ride scholarships to any four-year institution in Colorado. Congratulations to the following Boettcher Scholarship semifinalists:
Elizabeth Austin, CTHS
Cameron Bergan, CTHS
Janaye Matthews, CTHS    
Omer Siddiqui, CTHS
Rahul Verma, CTHS
Hyunah Jang, CCHS
Hannah Keller, CCHS
Trisha Palit, CCHS
Grace Rooney, CCHS
Jack Roswell, CCHS
Ann Zhang, CCHS
Lauren Slaughter, EHS
Dana Chernysheva, GHS
Camilla Hallin, GHS
Lauren Kercheval, GHS
Jessica Rea, GHS
Ryan Wetherbie, GHS
Jasmine Middleton, OHS
Elisabeth Bristol, SHHS
Jane Brusilovsky, SHHS
Eric Paricio, SHHS

From the Boettcher Scholarship semifinalists, 100 finalists will be selected for personal interviews in March. Boettcher Scholarship winners will be announced in late April.

national merit scholarship program logoForty-one students from the Cherry Creek School District have been named Semifinalists in the 61st annual National Merit Scholarship Program. They have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,400 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $32 million which will be awarded this spring.
Congratulations to the following National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists:

Ian Scherer, EHS
Casey Lambert, EHS
Rosemary Callahan, GHS
Kelsey Collins, GHS
Abigail Duginski, GHS
Timothy Fromme, GHS
Camilla Hallin, GHS
Elizabeth Mansfield, GHS
Ashleigh Maus, GHS
Rachel Phipps, GHS
Jessica Rea, GHS
Ryan Wetherbie, GHS
Justin Kim, SHHS
Katherine Azarkh, SHHS
Eric Paricio, SHHS
Edwin Bosch, CCHS
Kiera Breitenbach, CCHS
Summit Byrne, CCHS
Meghan Garrity, CCHS
Hannah Gu, CCHS
Rachael Hadden, CCHS
William Hallmark, CCHS
Elizabeth Hoffman, CCHS
Emma Hope, CCHS
Samantha Hu, CCHS
Mark Hua, CCHS
Alexander Izbiky, CCHS
Won Kim, CCHS
Apoorva Krishnan, CCHS
Joyce Lee, CCHS
Stephanie Li, CCHS
Thomas Liu, CCHS
Marlena McClellan, CCHS
Katherine Miller, CCHS
Jeremy Schiff, CCHS
Nicholas Shepard, CCHS
Kylee Sibilia, CCHS
Corey Stephens, CCHS
Alison Weinberger, CCHS
Jon Williamson, CCHS
Ann Zhang, CCHS

In addition, the following students earned special recognition in the National Merit Scholarship Program.
National Hispanic Recognition Program:
Marisa Welsh, Scholar, GHS  
Ashley Vensor, Scholar, GHS
National Hispanic Finalists:
Kelly Rebollo, SHHS
Eric Paricio, SHHS
National Merit Tomkins Gates Foundation Nominee:
Asia Keonmanivong, OHS

About 1.5 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2016 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2014 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state. The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

To become a finalist, the semifinalist and their high school must submit a detailed scholarship application in which they provide information about the semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities and honors and awards received. A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

From the approximately 16,000 semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the finalist level and in February they will be notified of this designation. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from this group of Finalists.

Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin or religious preference.

Posted 1/21/2016 12:40 PM
Copyright © Cherry Creek School District #5, 4700 S. Yosemite Street, Greenwood Village, CO 80111 | 303-773-1184
Cherry Creek School District No. 5 does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age or disability in admission to its programs, services or activities, in access to them, in treatment of individuals, or in any aspect of their operations. The lack of English language skills shall not be a barrier to admission or participation in the district’s activities and programs. The Cherry Creek School District No. 5 also does not discriminate in its hiring or employment practices. This notice is provided as required by Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990. Questions, complaints, or requests for additional information regarding these laws may be forwarded to the designated compliance officer: District Compliance Officer or directly to the U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights, Region VIII, Federal Office Building 1244 North Speer Blvd., Suite #310, Denver, CO 80204.

You are now leaving the Cherry Creek School District (CCSD) portal. Please note that CCSD does not control nor can it guarantee the accuracy, relevance, timeliness, completeness, or appropriateness of any content contained on web sites and/or pages outside of the official CCSD portal. The information or opinions contained on these web sites and/or pages do not necessarily represent the views of the CCSD.

With access to the internet comes the availability of material that may not be of educational value or appropriate for students. While at school, CCSD has taken precautions to restrict access to inappropriate or harmful web sites. However, on the internet it is impossible to control all materials and limit all access to information that has no educational value. CCSD firmly believes that the valuable information and the interaction available on the internet far outweigh the possibility that users may procure material that is not consistent with the educational goals of CCSD.